Alaska

For homeowners facing foreclosure in Alaska, the following is a summary of the state’s foreclosure laws:

Judicial Foreclosure

Foreclosures in Alaska can be judicial, meaning the bank must file a lawsuit in court in order to foreclose.

Nonjudicial Foreclosure

Foreclosures in Alaska can also be nonjudicial, but a court must confirm the sale.

Foreclosure Notification

The bank must mail or deliver a copy of the notice to the homeowner within 20 days of recording the notice of default, and post a sale notice in three public locations within five miles of the auction site 30 days before the sale. The sale notice must also be published once a week for four consecutive weeks in a local newspaper, as well as on the Internet 45 days prior to the auction date.

Reinstatement and Redemption

The mortgage can be reinstated at any time before the foreclosure sale date, unless two or more prior notices of default have been filed. The property cannot be redeemed after a nonjudicial foreclosure unless a right of redemption is specified in the deed of trust.

Alaska Protections for Service Members

Alaska law provides protections in accordance with the federal Service Members Civil Relief Act.

Banks may not foreclose on service members during or up to one year after active duty unless the foreclosure is approved by the court or a waiver has been signed by the service member.

Deficiency Law

The state does not allow deficiency lawsuits following nonjudicial foreclosures.

Eviction Notice

The buyer of the foreclosed home must deliver a notice to vacate to the homeowner prior to starting the eviction process.

For information regarding how to avoid foreclosure in Alaska, visit HUD.gov.

Alaska

For homeowners facing foreclosure in Alaska, the following is a summary of the state’s foreclosure laws:

Judicial Foreclosure

Foreclosures in Alaska can be judicial, meaning the bank must file a lawsuit in court in order to foreclose.

Nonjudicial Foreclosure

Foreclosures in Alaska can also be nonjudicial, but a court must confirm the sale.

Foreclosure Notification

The bank must mail or deliver a copy of the notice to the homeowner within 20 days of recording the notice of default, and post a sale notice in three public locations within five miles of the auction site 30 days before the sale. The sale notice must also be published once a week for four consecutive weeks in a local newspaper, as well as on the Internet 45 days prior to the auction date.

Reinstatement and Redemption

The mortgage can be reinstated at any time before the foreclosure sale date, unless two or more prior notices of default have been filed. The property cannot be redeemed after a nonjudicial foreclosure unless a right of redemption is specified in the deed of trust.

Alaska Protections for Service Members

Alaska law provides protections in accordance with the federal Service Members Civil Relief Act.

Banks may not foreclose on service members during or up to one year after active duty unless the foreclosure is approved by the court or a waiver has been signed by the service member.

Deficiency Law

The state does not allow deficiency lawsuits following nonjudicial foreclosures.

Eviction Notice

The buyer of the foreclosed home must deliver a notice to vacate to the homeowner prior to starting the eviction process.

For information regarding how to avoid foreclosure in Alaska, visit HUD.gov.

Scroll to top