Arkansas

For homeowners facing foreclosure in Arkansas, the following is a summary of the state’s foreclosure laws:

Judicial Foreclosure

Foreclosures in Arkansas can be judicial, meaning the bank must file a lawsuit in court in order to foreclose.

Nonjudicial Foreclosure

Foreclosures in Arkansas can also be nonjudicial but a court must confirm the sale.

Foreclosure Notification

The bank must send a copy of the notice to the homeowner by both certified and first-class mail within 30 days of submitting the notice. The sale notice must be published once a week for four consecutive weeks in a local newspaper prior to the auction date. The notice must also be posted at the county courthouse and on the Internet.

Reinstatement and Redemption

The mortgage can be reinstated any time before the sale date. The property cannot be redeemed after a nonjudicial foreclosure.

Arizona Protections for Service Members

Arizona law provides protections in accordance with the federal Service Members Civil Relief Act.

Banks may not foreclose on service members in active duty without a court order.

Deficiency Law

The state allows banks to request a deficiency judgment within twelve months of the foreclosure sale.

Eviction Notice

The buyer of the foreclosed home can initiate the eviction process immediately after the purchase of the property.

For information regarding how to avoid foreclosure in Arizona, visit HUD.gov.

Arkansas

For homeowners facing foreclosure in Arkansas, the following is a summary of the state’s foreclosure laws:

Judicial Foreclosure

Foreclosures in Arkansas can be judicial, meaning the bank must file a lawsuit in court in order to foreclose.

Nonjudicial Foreclosure

Foreclosures in Arkansas can also be nonjudicial but a court must confirm the sale.

Foreclosure Notification

The bank must send a copy of the notice to the homeowner by both certified and first-class mail within 30 days of submitting the notice. The sale notice must be published once a week for four consecutive weeks in a local newspaper prior to the auction date. The notice must also be posted at the county courthouse and on the Internet.

Reinstatement and Redemption

The mortgage can be reinstated any time before the sale date. The property cannot be redeemed after a nonjudicial foreclosure.

Arizona Protections for Service Members

Arizona law provides protections in accordance with the federal Service Members Civil Relief Act.

Banks may not foreclose on service members in active duty without a court order.

Deficiency Law

The state allows banks to request a deficiency judgment within twelve months of the foreclosure sale.

Eviction Notice

The buyer of the foreclosed home can initiate the eviction process immediately after the purchase of the property.

For information regarding how to avoid foreclosure in Arizona, visit HUD.gov.

Scroll to top