Missouri

For homeowners facing foreclosure in Missouri, the following is a summary of the state’s foreclosure laws:

Judicial Foreclosure

Foreclosures in Missouri can be judicial, meaning the bank must file a lawsuit in court in order to foreclose.

Nonjudicial Foreclosure

Foreclosures in Missouri can also be nonjudicial but a court must confirm the sale.

Foreclosure Notification

Missouri law requires one notice:

The bank must send a foreclosure sale notice to the homeowner at least 20 days before the date of the foreclosure sale.

The bank must also publish an ad in a local newspaper of the foreclosure sale every day for 20 days or once a week for four weeks.

Missouri Foreclosure Protections

Missouri law provides protections in accordance with the federal Service Members Civil Relief Act.

Reinstatement and Redemption

There is no legal right to reinstate before the sale in Missouri, however most deeds of trust allow the homeowner to cure the default and reinstate the loan under certain circumstances.

In Missouri, the homeowner has one year to redeem after the sale if the bank buys the home at the foreclosure sale. To do so, the homeowner must give written notice of the intent to redeem at the sale or ten days before the sale and satisfy a bond requirement.

Deficiency Law

In Missouri, there is no anti-deficiency law, but the bank can sue the homeowner for the deficiency after a nonjudicial foreclosure.

Eviction Notice

In Missouri, if the foreclosed homeowners do not leave the home after a nonjudicial foreclosure, the bank can file an eviction.  For information regarding how to avoid foreclosure in Missouri, visit HUD.gov.

Missouri

For homeowners facing foreclosure in Missouri, the following is a summary of the state’s foreclosure laws:

Judicial Foreclosure

Foreclosures in Missouri can be judicial, meaning the bank must file a lawsuit in court in order to foreclose.

Nonjudicial Foreclosure

Foreclosures in Missouri can also be nonjudicial but a court must confirm the sale.

Foreclosure Notification

Missouri law requires one notice:

The bank must send a foreclosure sale notice to the homeowner at least 20 days before the date of the foreclosure sale.

The bank must also publish an ad in a local newspaper of the foreclosure sale every day for 20 days or once a week for four weeks.

Missouri Foreclosure Protections

Missouri law provides protections in accordance with the federal Service Members Civil Relief Act.

Reinstatement and Redemption

There is no legal right to reinstate before the sale in Missouri, however most deeds of trust allow the homeowner to cure the default and reinstate the loan under certain circumstances.

In Missouri, the homeowner has one year to redeem after the sale if the bank buys the home at the foreclosure sale. To do so, the homeowner must give written notice of the intent to redeem at the sale or ten days before the sale and satisfy a bond requirement.

Deficiency Law

In Missouri, there is no anti-deficiency law, but the bank can sue the homeowner for the deficiency after a nonjudicial foreclosure.

Eviction Notice

In Missouri, if the foreclosed homeowners do not leave the home after a nonjudicial foreclosure, the bank can file an eviction.  For information regarding how to avoid foreclosure in Missouri, visit HUD.gov.

Scroll to top